Virtual Shadow Ensemble — Keep Your Distance!

Regular price $50.00

Noa Records presents - Virtual Shadow Ensemble; a virtual collective of sonic voyagers, a vessel for channeling Papatuanuku's messages during a time of global human separation.

Made within the span of ten days during a national lockdown in Aotearoa amidst a global pandemic, this virtual recording project reflects a widespread upheaval taking place in our collective consciousness, being forced away from each other physically into social isolation - a situation that seems to have turned the tides (for many at least) on a social climate of isolation that already exists in todays society. Cyber-architecture via social media has provided space for creativity to flourish during a time when our presence is felt stronger online in the absence of face-to-face interaction with our peers.

Despite physical distance we are still connected, still creating together.

KEEP YOUR DISTANCE! features spoken word poetry from Aije (Tāmaki Makaurau), Janina Nana Yaa (Tāmaki Makaurau), Julian Lubin (Tāmaki Makaurau) and Ryan Hendriks (Tāmaki Makaurau) overlapping collages of sonic-pieces recorded in our bedrooms/home studios from musicians such as: Riki Gooch (Pōneke, drums/percussion), Elias Dobbyn (Tāmaki Makaurau, percussion), Hasji (Tāmaki Makaurau, percussion), Larsen Taylor (Tangiteroria, bass/guitar/keyboards/altered alto saxophone/koauau), Kurt Murray (Perth, percussion/synths/keyboards/effects), Benny Lindsay-Williams (Pōneke, synthesiser), Joe Lindsay (Pōneke, trombone), Sebastian Soto (Tāmaki Makaurau, trutuka/flute/trumpet/alto saxophone/keyboards), Nāvakatoa Tekela-Pule (Tāmaki Makaurau, synthesiser, percussion), Leonardo Coghini (Pōneke, electric piano) and JY Lee (Tāmaki Makaurau, flute, saxophones).

The vinyl edition of the KEEP YOUR DISTANCE! album includes mixes unique to the medium + informational pamphlet with liner notes/insights into the processes and people behind the record.


1. Truth is in the Shadow of a Doubt (feat. Aije & Janina Nana Yaa) 
2. Cyber Waters Meet (Interlude) 
3. Kanohi ki te Kanohi, in a Virtual World (feat. Julian Lubin) 
4. Streaming Consciousness (feat. Janina Nana Yaa) 
5. Mouth of Oceania (feat. Aije) 
6. New Moon (Whiro) 
7. Manu Messengers (feat. Ryan Hendriks) 

Or 6 weekly interest free payments from $8.33 with what's this?